Tour of the Aberdeen City Archives

On the evening of the 24th March 2015 a number of the Hammermen and Tailors Incorporation met for a Tour of the Aberdeen City Archives. Welcomed by Mr Hall, of the Archives Department, the members were firstly given a short tour of the Towns House specifically the St Nicholas Room, the newly refurbished, Town and County Hall and the Bon Accord Room.

Matthew, in his talk presented the history of the City and the significance of various parts of the building.

We then were taken to the Charter Room and shown a number of the archives including details of the construction of Union Street, City Seals and original regalia, and records relation to apprenticeships and indentures.

After the visit we had a meal in a nearby restaurant before making our way home. Overall a very interesting and informative evening.

Tour of the Aberdeen City Archives Read More »

Alan Law Admitted as Burgess of Trade

Alan Law and Deacon Convener David N ParkinsonOn the 20th August 2014,  Alan David Law completed his entrance as a new member of the Aberdeen Hammermen Incorporation.   Alan was presented to a full Council Meeting by Deacon Convener David N Parkinson as a Free Burgess of the City of Aberdeen of his own craft and undertook to meet the requirements for admission as a Burgess of the City.   This is the final part of the admission process which now grants the appropriate rights and privileges as a full member of the Hammermen Incorporation.   In joining, Alan completed his Essay Piece …

Alan Law Admitted as Burgess of Trade Read More »

Burgess of Trades award for Edward

Edward Day

On Wednesday 5th March 2014, Edward Day of the Hammermen, was admitted as a Burgess of Trades at the Aberdeen City Council Meeting,completing his admission into his Trade Incorporation.
This follows an earlier submission of his Essay piece to his respective Trade of the Hammermen Incorporation..
Edward now has the appropriate rights and privileges and are eligible to vote on business matters as a full members of his Trade.

Burgess of Trades award for Edward Read More »

Inner Marches Day 2013

Arbroath Abbey

On Saturday 18th May 2013 thirteen members of the Hammermen Incorporation along with the Deacon Convener visited Arbroath as part of the Inner Marches day.

After meeting at Trinity Hall for breakfast, the Deacon, Bruce Campbell, informed those present of the programme for the day. Prior to departure he asked the Deacon Convener to talk about the portrait of King William the Lyon on display in Trinity Hall.
Boarding the minibus, we then set off for Arbroath Abbey. On arrival we were given a guided tour of the Abbey buildings. Founded in 1178 for monks of the Tironensian order by King William the Lion,
King William, who died at Stirling, was buried before the high altar of the church in 1214. …

Inner Marches Day 2013 Read More »


HammermensArms-150x150The Hammermen originally comprised craftsmen associated with metalworking – or “men who wield the hammer” in more poetic terms. Members came from a variety of established trades, with everyone from blacksmiths and goldsmiths to clockmakers lending their experience and expertise.

Sword-makers and armourers are also part of the history of the Hammermen, along with the lorimers who crafted the bits worn by horses through the generations. Goldsmiths, tinsmiths and pewterers have also been among the members as well as other surviving trades such as locksmiths.

Today the men of the hammer embrace every aspect of modern engineering across the full spectrum of disciplines. Through the admission of sons of members, a wealth of other trades and professions are also represented within the most senior of the Seven Incorporated Trades of Aberdeen.

Current Role of Members and Date Joined:

Cecil A. S. Duncan1959 Leslie W. I. Fraser1993 Bruce Campbell2006
George M. Hepburn1965 Frank Cook1997 David G. Cobban2006
James Stevenson1970 Gordon F. Main1997 Graeme Duncan2009
A. Keith Campbell1972 Malcolm A. McDonald1997 Rennie Rushton2010
David A. Henderson1972 Baird S. Shepherd1997 Edward Day2013
Ronnie D. Finnie1977 William F. Slater1997 Alan Law2014
Kenneth A. Eddie1978 Philip A. Sleigh1997 Kenneth Scott2016
Alexander C. Kirk1980 Brian J. Winton1997 Grant James Simpson2018
Alexander D. Thomson1981 David S. Thomson1998 Greig Morrison2022
William W. Leiper1986 Anthony J. Donald2003   
William M. Glennie1990 Bruce F. Fraser2003   


Hammermen Read More »

Scroll to Top