WeaversArms-150x150The Weavers, incorporated before 1222, belong to the oldest tradesman’s guild within the Seven Incorporated Trades of Aberdeen and were at the centre of commercial life in the burgh from those early days.

With a distinctive crest featuring the weaver’s shuttle, the craft forged an identity within the trades and together with the fullers – or dyers and listers – embraced the organisation’s principles. With strict regulation from authorities on the quality and price of members’ work, the standards of the Aberdeen weavers seldom wavered and were upheld by dedicated members.

Encroachments from tradesmen in neighbouring areas were frequently fought off through the promotion of the ethos which has served the Seven Incorporated Trades of Aberdeen for centuries.

Current Role of Members and Date Joined:

Ian W. Logan1974 Frank J. Coutts1993 Adam P. Byrne2010
Alan E. Morrice1974 Alistair F. M. Hutcheson1993 George C. C. Henderson2010
Graeme D. Nicol1978 Christopher D. MacBride1994 Neil A. Armour2014
Ronald Taylor1978 Ian Thomson1994 Peter Murray2017
Andrew Anderson1988 Ian L. Dale1996 Ms. Elaine Gowans2022
Alexander Wiseman1989 Stuart D. MacBride1998 Dr. Lynne Hosking2024
George M. Esson1991 Martin B. Wiseman2003   
Stuart C. MacBride1991 David N. K. Henderson2004   

Career Enhancement Award – J Gray Kilgour Medal

The J Kilgour medal was presented to the Trades by a former Deacon whose family business Kilgour & Walker was synonymous with the Weaving industry in Aberdeen.  Kilgore and Walker started trading in the 1800s and continued through until the 1950s with sites throughout the city, the main factory being in Berryden Road, Aberdeen.  The company specialised in providing items of clothing and gloves for the Fishing, Farming and Granite industry.   Mr Kilgour was especially keen to promote apprenticeships in his industry and develop working skills.
The Career Enhancement Award has been awarded, along with a bursary,  since 1997, with the addition of the J Gray Kilgour medal in 2002.

Sarah Marie Potter1998 Anna Thom2010
Angela Buchan1999 Matt Russell2011
Morag Mitchell2000 Matt Russell2012
Eva Oxberry2001 Karen Runthal2013
Nadia Ainsue2002 Michelle Hay2014
Mark Chitty2003 Joanna O’Brien2015
Alison Whewell2004 Kirsty Brownlee2016
Ritta Nikkonen2005 Katrina Lindsay2017 
Jenny Lardell2006   
Joanne Kerr2007   
Irna Boutkan-Beumer2008   
Ingrid Garrioch2009   


Scroll to Top